Bones found in Edmonton, AB Canada Sewer

April 24, 2009

“We pulled it out of a 8 inch line in Edmonton, I actually don’t know what it is, but I do know it sure scared me when I saw it on the CCTV, I thought we were going to have to call in CSI as it looked like it might have been Human. I just saw the back part and the curve of the jaw. It was a rather scary day.”  From: http://www.flickr.com/photos/beothuk/279622661/in/set-72157594345353903/

Speculation and Comments:

“It is an Herbivore, but what kind? I would hazard a guess by size, if it were domestic, a sheep or goat, if it were wild, a deer, or Caribou. If you know, I would be interested in hearing what is was.”

“It is the lower jaw of a domestic pig (or it could be a “feral” pig). It’s also a young one because behind the rear molars is a set of teeth that hasn’t yet erupted (come through the bone). I am intrigued by the wear in the middle teeth of the left jaw though – rough diet?”

“Still, that is a really weird thing to be pulling from a sewer line. Oh yeah – also look at the lower canine teeth that basically function as tusks. They are larger in adult males. Good find!”

Suggested Resources (for comparison):
www.flickr.com/photos/barbara-h/172343604/
www.flickr.com/photos/cat-sidh/83465171/
www.coueswhitetail.com/other_hunters/y-vs-old -lower-jaw-2…

Leave a comment